Highlights from CREA’s 2024 Leadership Summit, Open Forum and AGM

Earlier this month, the Canadian Real Estate Association (CREA) hosted its 2024 Leadership Summit, and Open Forum and Annual General Meeting (AGM).

2024 CREA Leadership Summit

On Monday, April 15, 2024, CREA’s 2024 Leadership Summit kicked off with sessions from the Disney Institute, a segment of The Walt Disney Company, where attendees had the chance to learn about the magic behind Disney’s famous approach – including the systems, standards, and values used to bring it to life. The sessions focused on leadership best practices and were designed to help inspire and empower.

In the afternoon, Peter Katz, Juno-nominated singer-songwriter and keynote speaker, shared his perspective on what it means to be connected to your work and clients, and how to harness the power of celebration.

2024 CREA Open Forum

On Tuesday, April 16, we were honoured to welcome Elder Claudette Commanda of the Kitigan Zibi Anishinabeg First Nation to open the day with a traditional welcome.

During the meeting, Phil Moore, Chair of CREA’s Environmental, Social, and Governance (ESG) Committee, revealed CREA’s new social purpose statement: “CREA opens doors to thriving futures for all, beginning with home.”

This social purpose statement speaks to the heart of REALTORS® and, as it’s incorporated into CREA’s operations, will be used for inspiration and as a decision lens.

Attendees then participated in a collaborative session on the proposed governance structure of REALTOR.ca as a taxable entity. During the session they had the opportunity to ask questions and offer feedback, which will be shared with the REALTOR.ca Task Force and CREA Board of Directors.

Moving forward, we’ll continue the work to finalize the complete business case. Once ready, details will be shared with boards, associations, and REALTORS® through various engagements.

If you weren’t able to attend, you can review the details of the proposed governance structure and share your feedback at CREA.ca/REALTORinc.

Finally, we presented two prestigious CREA awards.

Kelly Byers of Woodstock, Ontario was presented the Canadian REALTORS Care® Award 2024, for her incredible impact on and commitment to her community. As part of her award, CREA made a donation in her name to the London Health Sciences Foundation’s Stem Cell Patient Assistance Fund, Byers’ charity of choice.

Marina R. James, CEO of the Winnipeg Regional Real Estate Board was awarded the 2024 AEN Award of Excellence for her extensive contributions to the association community. This award recognizes an outstanding Association Executive who demonstrates leadership, cooperation, and community involvement, qualities James exudes. As part of the award, CREA made a donation in her name to East Beaches Animal Services, James’ charity of choice.


During the AGM, we installed CREA’s 2024-2025 Chair, James Mabey, a REALTOR® and broker-manager from Edmonton, Alberta.

“I couldn’t be more PROUD,” says Mabey. “Thank you all for your support and confidence!”

He’s joined by fellow officers Valérie Paquin, Chair-Elect, Garry Bhaura, Vice Chair, and Larry Cerqua, Immediate Past Chair.

We also welcomed back several members of our Board of Directors and were happy to add a few new ones. Thank you to all those who applied; we appreciate your dedication, willingness to contribute, and respective involvement in the REALTOR® association community.

Meet our 2024-2025 Board of Directors

First row left to right: Sarah Johnston (Regional Director, Alberta/Northwest Territories), Garry Bhaura (Vice Chair), Luc Woolsey (Director-at-Large), Phil Moore (Director-at-Large), Kimberly French (Regional Director, Atlantic), Georges Gaucher (Regional Director, Québec), Chris Peters (Regional Director, Atlantic), Darin Germyn (Director-at-Large), Avril Reifferscheid (Regional Director, Saskatchewan), David Oikle (Director-at-Large). Second row left to right: Kourosh Doustshenas (Regional Director, Manitoba), Winson Chan (Regional Director, Ontario), Valérie Paquin (Chair-Elect), James Mabey (Chair), Larry Cerqua (Immediate Past Chair), Janice Myers (Chief Executive Officer), Anthony Bastiaanssen (Regional Director, British Columbia/Yukon).

If you have questions, please reach out to our Member Experience Centre at support@CREA.ca.